Author Topic: 6L6GB/6V6GT combo vs a quad of 6L6GB or 6L6GC tubes  (Read 4649 times)

Offline sleepyguy24

• Obsessively Audiophilic
6L6GB/6V6GT combo vs a quad of 6L6GB or 6L6GC tubes
« on: March 28, 2012, 10:29:21 AM »
Hi everyone

Some time ago I got a Baldwin organ amp that was converted to a 2 channel stereo amp. I'm new to tubes and am in need of assistance.

The current tube complement on this amp is a pair of 6L6GB power tubes, a pair of 6V6GT power tubes, 3 12AU7 tubes and 1 5U4GB rectifier tube. It also has 3 transformers in the back.
The amp says Baldwin 6L6 and when I asked various tube experts around the net they were thinking it should run off of 4 6L6GB tubes. One suggested a quad of 6L6GC tubes.

Would it be a big difference in sound quality to go from the split of 6L6GB and 6V6GT tubes to 4 6L6GB/6L6GC tubes? The reason I ask is that I can't find any manuals about this amp and I have no idea on how to re-bias the amp. I went to a local music shop and they were wanting over $100 to re-bias and give the amp a thorough check. I'm happy with the amp but I have this nagging curiosity if there are more improvements to be found by making the change.

I’d be using this Baldwin amp with a pair of KEF Q300 speakers or a pair of KEF 103/3 speakers in a nearfield listening set-up. I think at most I'd be 6ft away from the speakers.

Another question that came up from reading various stuff on the net was how frequently do you have to re-bias a tube amp? I don't want to pay $ every couple of months to get this amp re-biased as it will always cost me a bit of change to do so.

Any thoughts/opinions/experience on all this is much appreciated.

Thanks again everyone.

Offline richidoo

• Out Of My Speaker Cabinet
Re: 6L6GB/6V6GT combo vs a quad of 6L6GB or 6L6GC tubes
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2012, 12:24:39 PM »