Author Topic: Cryo Treated Vacuum Tubes  (Read 22588 times)

eleazar

Cryo Treated Vacuum Tubes
« on: March 14, 2011, 05:16:57 PM »
I'm really really new to Tube gear I have an inexpensive tube preamp that I purchased recently.
I'm looking to try some other tubes than the $15 6922 tubes that it came with. ITR317 has some
vintage tubes for me the next time I see him. Would Cryo treating a vacuum tube be an improvement.

Consonance T99

Cryo Tubes Ebay

Offline richidoo

• Out Of My Speaker Cabinet
Re: Cryo Treated Vacuum Tubes
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2011, 06:07:40 PM »
Good lookin pre...

Some sales propaganda about cryoing tubes. YMMV  
http://www.tubedepot.com/bsctfaq.html
I have bought from them, the tubes were nice, but did not compliment the circuit I used them in. I would only buy cryo tubes again IF I already knew they were a good match for my amp.

Contact Lee at Cryoparts, he is a AN sponsor and has lots of experience with cryo treatment, including tubes for his own use. I don't know if he offers tube cryo as a service. Also contact Black Sand Audio, John does cryo treatment and has done some tubes, and is always full of excellent advice.

My fav 6992 is Matsushita from 1970s.  New JJ signal tubes sound excellent, but you need a spare. As for the Electro Harmonix tubes sold by Cryoset, I would not be surprised if they still sound a lot like the uncryoed version which is a little edgy, not terribly refined but dense and strong, very reliable. I think I would invest in some decent vintage tubes rather than freeze the EHs. But I never used these, maybe they are awesome! ;)
« Last Edit: March 14, 2011, 06:23:15 PM by richidoo »

Offline rollo

• Industry Participant
  • Rollo Audio - Home demo the only way to know
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2011, 07:22:49 AM »
  Sweet ! What is the character of the Pre as is ? warm ? Bright ? neutral ? That would determine what 6922 you might try.