Author Topic: At the end of the audio hunt, what's next?  (Read 7290 times)

Offline JLM

• Obsessively Audiophilic
At the end of the audio hunt, what's next?
« on: November 09, 2009, 03:37:22 AM »
Don't know if others have thought about this, but I want some semblance of balance in my life, so I have a total price tag in mind for my audio and HT systems.  This balance issue could make for a whole new thread.  I consider myself very fortunate to be living at a time with all these marvelous technologies, including the internet for finding so many valuable resources (you all included) and to have money to put into this pastime. 

Today I shipped my babies (Fostex F200A drivers) off to be EnABL'd by the man himself (Bud Purvine).  The F200A drivers, for those who aren't familiar, are one of very few drivers rated 30 - 20,000 Hz, have a cast frame with huge AlNiCo magnet, and currently retail for about $400 each.  I've been using them for 5 years in mass loaded transmission line cabinets that I commissioned Bob Brines to design/build (what he calls FTA-2000) based on the seminal Martin King MathCad application for designing transmission line cabinets.  Bud was instrumental in development of the EnABL treatment for improving pistonic action of extended range drivers but is perhaps better known as the owner of O-Netics that builds electrical transformers.  According to Bud, EnABL works especially well with the F200A, transforming them from also rans in the universe of respected extended range drivers to world beaters.  I'm a speaker guy, so it was hard pulling the F200A's from their nest, bolting them to plywood, and sticking them in a box for shipment across the continent to a stranger.