Author Topic: G2Gs and Raves: How Do You Run a Successful First Audio Meet At Your House?  (Read 11378 times)

mac5u

Before I get to my question, I'd just like to say straight away that I could have just as easily posted this in the NY Audio Rave forum and only posted here, well, just because. So, no slight meant to the other forum.  Frankly, I don't know what the difference is between the two anyway.

So, I am relatively new to the Charlotte metro area and I have yet to meet anyone from NC or SC personally to check out respective audio systems.  I have never been to a G2G.  I'd like to get things going this year in NC and would be willing to host a G2G, but never having been to one, I am not sure where to start.  In the post below, richidoo says "...g2g's it's just like any party but with audiophiles. You can make it as complicated or not as you desire. You make the rules for your party, and it can be however you like". 

Sounds simple enough, but then there is this comment:  "People haven't stepped up because hosting a party at your house is work".   OK, I get that too, and that part doesn't bother me, it's just never having done it before.  But rather than go on about my questions, I'll just let richidoo speak on my behalf in an NC Triangulation thread.  He wrote it better than I could anyway.

As for g2g's it's just like any party but with audiophiles. You can make it as complicated or not as you desire. You make the rules for your party, and it can be however you like.

People haven't stepped up because hosting a party at your house is work. Cleaning it, feeding them, and often the wife has to at least help, often they will do much of the background work, so it is a family sacrifice that not everybody can commit too in advance.  Maybe the shyness factor, or wondering if their system is good enough, or big enough space affects deciding to host that first time.