Author Topic: Decaware speakers  (Read 3726 times)

shep

Decaware speakers
« on: September 03, 2011, 09:53:34 AM »
I've asked this before but...I'm getting that itch and wondered who here has experience with Decaware speakers? Input appreciated.

Offline tmazz

• Out Of My Speaker Cabinet
  • Just basking in the glow of my tubes.....
Re: Decaware speakers
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2011, 11:44:50 AM »
I've asked this before but...I'm getting that itch and wondered who here has experience with Decaware speakers? Input appreciated.

Sorry Shep, I wish I could help, but I have no first hand experience with any Decaware products.
Remember, it's all about the music........

• Nola Boxers
• Sunfire True SW Super Jr (2)
• McIntosh MC 275
• ARC SP-9
• VPI HW-19 Mk IV/SDS/SME IV/Soundsmith Carmen Mk II ES
• Pro-Ject Pre Box S2 DAC/Rasp Pi Roon Endpoint
• DigiBuss/TWL PC&USB/MIT Cables

Offline JLM

• Obsessively Audiophilic
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2011, 01:04:03 PM »
It's been a few years, but here goes...

1st gen Radials: the soundstage was a cloud floating above the speakers, decent sound, some wouldn't need a sub

High Def Towers: silly/complicated design, not impressed with the sound

Haven't heard any other current offerings, but in general Decware speakers were quite bass light (something I see in nearly all SET friendly speakers).  I wanted to like Decware (value, made in the American heartland, lots of support), but their amps were too small for my chosen speakers (and I believe deep bass to be foundational to quality sound).  Even at the first Decfest he hosted, he kept turning down the stereo Imperial subs?!?