Recently Diagnosed > New Member Introductions

amateur recording engineer

(1/3) > >>

JayDee:
Hello friends! My name is Jason. I don't have a crazy expensive audiophile listening setup, and I'm not even sure what a "buss" is, in this application. However, I have been recording, mixing and mastering music on and off for a couple decades. I've been a musician since 4th grade. I had Moog, Oberheim, Roland synths, electric guitars, a Tascam Portastudio and a Furman stereo spring reverb when I was a kid in 1982.

These days I have a home studio, and occasionally I record some professional jazz musicians. The latest venture I'm working on is to record these jazz musicians live, with a single pair or stereo microphone, in high resolution 384kHz/32-bit PCM and DSD.

In the last few days I've been collaborating on a new microphone cable for my Royer SF12 stereo ribbon mic, with a friend of mine. This friend is a Tonmeister who designs and builds professional audio and video studios, in addition to his own cables and speakers. He sells his clients audiophile gear at pro audio prices, so I'm very lucky to know him.

I'm doing a bit of a rebuild on my home studio. For the last week I've been reading a lot about AC power outlets (wall), and that brought me here. Seems like a cool place to not be ridiculed for thinking one piece of metal sounds better than another. Cheers!

Nick B:
Hello Jason and welcome to the forum! I think you’ll enjoy the exchange of ideas and opinions here. As a result of your post, I now have heard of and know the definition of a Tonmeister. If your Tonmeister friend has a website, please post the link as I’d be curious to read about it.

You mentioned AC power outlets and a “buss”. Dave of PI Audio makes superb AC power treatment products. I own an UberBUSS device and UberPerto receptacles. Others here can attest to how excellent those products are and this link will provide a little more information.   https://piaudiogroup.com/