Author Topic: Keeping Your Knives Sharp  (Read 438 times)

Offline James Edward

• Obsessively Audiophilic
Keeping Your Knives Sharp
« on: October 29, 2021, 03:03:06 PM »
I wrote ‘keeping’ in the title- there are options to getting a good sharp edge in the first place, but to KEEP them sharp, I love this- https://chefschoice.com/products/chefschoice-prontopro-diamond-hone-knife-sharpener-model-4643

I’m not good at using a steel- https://ae01.alicdn.com/kf/HTB1vE0hQVXXXXaeXFXXq6xXFXXXE/Grinder-Oval-Diamond-Knife-Sharpening-Steel-Rod-Sharpener-43-5cm-With-ABS-Handle-Professional-Knife-Sharpener.jpg

I keep the 4643 next to my knife rack and use the final stage each time I pull out a knife. It keeps a keen edge for quite a while. A sharpening is necessary after a while, but I really like this for not a ton of money.

Luxman L- 590 AX MK2
Esoteric K-07X
Pro-Ject Debut Carbon Esprit SB
Audience Au24SE
PI Cat6
Spatial Audio M3 Turbo S
Stereo Hsu ULS-15 Mk2
Supra Classic 6.0

Offline S Clark

• Audio Neurotic
Re: Keeping Your Knives Sharp
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2021, 05:27:22 PM »
At least it has two constant angle options. But what's the grit size? 
On my cheaper knives, I use a Jewelstick with 600, 1000, and 1800 grit sides... and I can get a functionally sharp blade. 

On my better knives, I use stones starting at 1000 and going up to 15000 grit.  In between, I'll strop on leather with diamond spray.  Most of my Japanese knives are at 15*, one at 18*, and one 10* on one side and 13* on the other.   These little guys make it easy and are cheap. 
And on days when I just can't hold things steady, I use an EdgePro  Apex

Some obsess over cable risers, then there are those that sharpen knives. 
« Last Edit: October 29, 2021, 05:31:34 PM by S Clark »
Speaker-GR Research LS9-XStatik-AltecFlamenco
Amp-Moscode,Dodd,Folsom
Pre-Dodd
Turntable-Vyger,Victor,TechnicSP10MK2
Phonopre-Hagermann,Jolida,GSlee   
Cable-AudioSensibility Wywires TWL
Cartridge-Dynavector,Sumiko