Author Topic: 300B based tube preamps like the Bottlehead BeePre. Thoughts on them?  (Read 27742 times)

Offline sleepyguy24

• Obsessively Audiophilic
Hey everyone.

I know Bill B has got the Harmonia 300B based Tube Buffer that really looks amazing. That got me curious about 300B stuff. I was just looking around and I stumbled upon the Bottlehead BeePre 300B preamp.

http://bottlehead.com/product/beepre-300b-preamplifier-kit/

It looks pretty cool but I'm just curious how do these 300B type preamps sound. I was wondering if anyone here has heard the BeePre or maybe other 300B type preamps. I'm new to tube stuff so a 300B preamp is foreign to me. I've only seen   the 300B tube used in amps. How do the 300B based tube preamps sound?

For kicks I priced a Bottlehead BeePre and the cost to buy it and have the Bottlehead expert assemble and it came up to over $2k. No go for me anytime soon. I still owe SN money for his EEMM DAC.

Thanks in advance.

Offline Response Audio

• Industry Participant
  • Build your system for yourself, not the critics
    • Response Audio
If you get the chance to hear one, I highly recommend it. Then again, the sound may not be for you. If you love 300Bs, you'll love a 300B preamp. My prototype 300B buffer will never leave my system (when I get it back :?).

We (Purity) will have one maybe later this year but will not be inexpensive. I have had a prototype for a while but other products took priority.

The Bottlehead will be your most affordable option and from what I hear, its a nice preamp. The Ming-Da 300B pre also sounds really good but then you have to deal with quality issues and no US representation. I modified a few of these a couple years back but now nobody in the US represents them.

Regardless of what you may end up with down the road, keep in mind that your choice of 300B tubes will have a big influence on the sound.
Design Engineer
Response Audio NY
Custom Vacuum Tube Deaign
www.ResponseAudioNY.com

Offline steve