Author Topic: A new computer in my music room.  (Read 3268 times)

Offline ToddC

A new computer in my music room.
« on: January 29, 2009, 09:13:54 PM »
Hi Everyone. I'm a  newcomer here at AudioNervosa, but have been lurking for a while.  I'm a computer programmer by trade, was an electronics technician years ago and have always been an avid music lover.  I recently took the plunge into computer audio in a big way and I thought you might find my recent experiences interesting.

My system's analog side consists of a Ayre AX-7e integrated Amp and B&W 703 speakers.  My digital equipment consists of an older benchmark DAC1, a Rega Apollo CD player and  a dedicated Unbuntu server streaming 500GB of FLAC, WAV and MP3 files to a Slim Devices Squeezebox.

My listening room is a 12x16 room with a 15ft cathedral ceiling, with serious reflection problems that made listening in this room almost unbearable.  Unfortunately, it was either this room as a dedicated listening room or nothing, so I made the best of it.  While my wife was away on a business trip about a year ago I bought 9 acoustic panels and hung them around my room. The "ask for forgiveness" strategy worked in this situation :) The panels made a gigantic improvement and eliminated about 75% of the room's acoustic problems.

I really love my system, but there were still a few nits that I've been living with and wanted to fix.  A JPS labs digital AC power cord for the Benchmark DAC1 helped clean up grain I was hearing on vocals, but it seemed that a bit was still coming through.  The other problem was a resonant frequency that was really really annoying when playing music with deep bass. At moderate levels the whole room would just shake with a bloated 80Hz resonance.  On the plus side, imaging, resolution and dynamics were fantastic and I really didn't want to impact those.