Author Topic: help! symptoms  (Read 3096 times)

shep

help! symptoms
« on: September 10, 2011, 12:10:05 AM »
My wonderful cdp is playing up. Oh lord, why oh why? It was totally rebuilt and checked out by my guy Ray in Holland. It was playing and sounding marvelous and then a few days ago started skipping. Doesn't seem to matter what cd's. Sometimes it plays right the way thru and other times it spits and misses notes, whole passages. Can't be the laser because the read-out stays steady the whole time. Ray is both upset and puzzled. He thinks it might be a bad solder joint on a voltage reg. I can't test for this or see anything. I might have to send it back  :( Before I get to that extreem, anyone have any other ideas?

Offline allenzachary

• Obsessively Audiophilic
Re: help! symptoms
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2011, 04:42:53 AM »
I have had some strange experiences with Japanese sourced CD players with those symptoms.  By treating the loading belt with a rubber conditioner, often skipping symptoms disappear.  I have no rational explanation for how or why this worked. I usually felt ridiculous even attempting it in front of a customer, but it had such a high success rate that it justified the attempt.

If you have any head cleaning kits remaining form your days with cassettes or R to R's, you probably have a rubber conditioner.  It was the same stuff you'd use to clean a pinch roller.

Offline tmazz

• Out Of My Speaker Cabinet
  • Just basking in the glow of my tubes.....
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2011, 11:49:06 AM »