Author Topic: Getting the most from the Logitech Touch  (Read 17857 times)

Offline mfsoa

• Obsessively Audiophilic
Getting the most from the Logitech Touch
« on: April 14, 2010, 04:39:41 PM »
I'm new to the computer audio world and just got my Touch on Monday.
I thought it might be nice to have a place to share our experiences with this player, and to ask questions.

Some of mine might be pretty basic, like this one:

I got two, one TB drives for music storage-

FAT32 or NTFS?  I'll be using an ACER laptop we just picked up (Core i3, 17" screen for $550 from Staples)

Thanks already!

Offline richidoo

• Out Of My Speaker Cabinet
Re: Getting the most from the Logitech Touch
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2010, 06:48:12 PM »
http://cquirke.mvps.org/ntfs.htm
It's an old debate, but dying out as Windows finally starts to grow up. My personal opinion is, if you are gonna use Windows and only windows, always windows, then use NTFS for the speed, storage efficiency (smaller clusters), much better security, and much better tolerance of faults. An external disk is more subject to trouble due to pulling out USB cord, impact, or disconnecting wall wart power or similar. NTFS is more likely to recover from those kinds of accidents than FAT, which is pretty much toast if interrupted during a write.

If you want to plug the drive into combinations of Linux, Mac and Windows machines without any fuss, then FAT32 is the wtg, but be very careful.  There are apps to allow mac to write to NTFS but it is not native. Mac can read from NTFS by default.