Author Topic: New Alan Maher Reference III - preliminary review  (Read 16014 times)

Offline mdconnelly

• Audio Neurotic
  • new ways to dream...
New Alan Maher Reference III - preliminary review
« on: January 05, 2010, 05:04:26 PM »
A bit of background... I've been using Alan Maher power products now for about 6 months.   I've got a Quantum Studio on my dedicated audio circuit, a couple Reference IIs and a PE v3 on non-audio circuits and a few Infinity CBFs thrown in for good measure.  I've been extremely  pleased with the results since first venturing into Alan's world as other posts here and on AC will attest.

Which brings me to his latest - the Reference III.   I received one for eval 4 days ago and, based on advice from Alan, just inserted it into yet another non-audio circuit in my house.   To be honest, I didn't expect a whole lot... Given the number of AM products I'm already using, there must be a point of diminishing return. Hah!  not so with the Reference III.

1) A couple hours after I inserted it... I was in the listening room but not even in the sweet spot, and I could swear the vocals just seemed to have more body.  I jumped into the sweet spot (after apologizing to my daughter for leaping over her)... Sure enough - not only more body to the vocals, but better 3D imaging in the sound stage.  We had a number of people over so I really didn't have any time to listen seriously, but noticeable it was! 

2) Next night ...  (note that the Ref III was inserted into my bedroom circuit which also has a nice but at best mid-fi system)... when I entered the bedroom, my wife already had the stereo on and, damn, it just sounded better... more tonal thump in the bass (these are bookshelf speakers).