Author Topic: Room Questions  (Read 8861 times)

LKdog

Room Questions
« on: July 26, 2007, 09:03:52 AM »
Bryan-

Interesting product. Congratulations.

I read your posts with interest here and other forums as I have been working on Room Tx for several months.

Quick question (I know none of this ever has a simple answer) if you don't mind.

My room is 25' long and 15' wide and then 18' wide where a staircase ends.

I have my speakers about 5' in the room and the listening position roughly 15' in the room so there is roughly 9-10' behind the listening position.

Presently have bass traps in front and rear corners which made a nice improvement in bass output and overall clarity of sound stage.

I have side reflections absorption with 2'x2' fiberglass panels.
I have two 2'X4' panels behind the me on the back wall.
I have nothing on front wall right now behind the speakers.
No diffusion anywhere.

There is an equipment rack and TV between the speakers, but they are set back a couple feet and they do not seem to hinder the sound stage. I have put panels over them and it made no difference that I could tell.

Should the larger 2'X4' panels be on the front wall behind the monitors?

I guess I was doing a LEDE thing with the front wall being live.
There is a good bit of absorption in the room from sofas in addition to the bass traps and panels.

Any thoughts are welcome. Maybe I am doing this backwards??

Thanks.

--Tony

System is:

ACI Jaguar monitors
ACI Titan subs (2)
Odyssey Mono Extremes monoblocks
Audio Mirror PP1 tube preamp
TRL SACD 900 source

Offline bpape

• Audio Neurotic
  • Sensible Sound Solutions
    • Owner - Sensible Sound Solutions
Room Questions
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2007, 09:21:46 AM »