Author Topic: Considering a universal Blu-Ray player  (Read 8140 times)

jsaliga

Considering a universal Blu-Ray player
« on: May 01, 2011, 10:15:52 AM »
For the past three years I have been using a Denon 5910CI as my SACD and DVD-A player.  I've been extremely happy with its performance and have no complaints.  But lately I have been thinking about buying a universal Blu-Ray player to replace it.  Blu-ray audio titles are starting to trickle into the market, but that by itself is not reason enough for me.  It would also be nice to be able to watch the occasional Blu-Ray movie on the 42" set in my home office, or better yet get Blu-Ray concerts and be able to enjoy the audio through my main listening system.

The models that are currently on my radar are:

Denon DBP-4010UDCI Universal Blu-Ray Player MSRP $1,999
Marantz UD8004 Universal Blu-Ray Player MSRP $2,299
Oppo BDP-95 Universal Blu-Ray Player MSRP $999

I have had some experience with Oppo in the past.  I had an Oppo DVD Player that got fairly heavy use for about 2 years before it broke.  I was favorably impressed with its performance and very underwhelmed by the build quality.

The Denon 5910CI is massive, built like a tank, and features stellar DVD-A and SACD playback.  I am inclined to rule out the Oppo just on my experience with their build quality, but don't want to exclude a potentially great player.  At this point I am merely kicking the idea around and am not even close to a decision.  If there was enough room in my rack I would probably buy a universal Blu-Ray player and keep the Denon 5930CI.

What say you?  Are their other players I should be looking at?  My budget is up to $3,500 -- but no higher.

--Jerome
« Last Edit: May 01, 2011, 04:03:51 PM by jsaliga »

stringdriventhing

Re: Considering a universal Blu-Ray player
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2011, 12:01:00 PM »