Author Topic: My new PC build  (Read 27555 times)

jsaliga

My new PC build
« on: May 24, 2011, 04:57:18 PM »
I recently decided that it was time to replace my workstation with a new computer.  My everyday working computer is a Shuttle XPC SFF, with a Intel Core 2 Quad CPU, a Blu-Ray Burner, 8GB of memory, a EVGA GTX 260, and a 1TB Western Digitial hard disk.  It's been a nice computer for the two years or so that I have been using it.  I'm an IT professional so I tend to run a lot of apps at once and processor/memory is more important to me than gaming performance.  I used to be hardcore gamer but I don't have much time for it these days and haven't built a serious gaming rig in about 10 years.

My plan was to kill two birds with one stone.  I wanted a nice system for music playback, and planned to fit the new machine with a RME HDSPe AIO audio interface with the optional word clock.  I sold off my Transporter and Denon DVD 5910CI and planned to build this computer in the best HTPC case I could find.

Here is what I started out with:

Luxa2 HTPC Case
EVGA X58 Classified Motherboard
EVGA Superclocked GTX 570
Intel i7 Core 970 Six Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaw Series 24GB DDR3 1600 Memory
Liteon Blu-Ray Burner
Crucial 128GB 2.5" SATA III Solid State Disk
Western Digital 2.0TB SATA 6.0Gb/s Hard Disk
Corsair AX850 RT 850 watt Modular Power Supply
RME HDSPe AIO Audio Interface with Word Clock

The Luxa2 case was very expensive and at $599 was much more than I ever expected to pay for a PC case without a power supply.  But it was just drop dead gorgeous and I decided that I had to have it.

It was very spacious inside and this rail on the top is where you mount your optical drive and hard disk.  There was no provision for mounting a 2.5" SSD so I bought an adapter that would allow me to fit the Crucial SSD to the space provided in the Luxa2 case.