Author Topic: Opera Gear Discussion  (Read 7712 times)

Mike L

Opera Gear Discussion
« on: August 27, 2010, 02:23:38 PM »
You can throw me into the unsatisfied Opera customer camp.

You are right about one thing in that they are some very nice sounding gear at very modest prices.  However, their reliability is just total garbage at best as of late. 

Between failed transports (droplet, cd120linear - have experienced) and hybrid timebombs waiting to go off (Calaf, 120a linear - currently sits under my bed) it is very difficult as a consumer to put any confidence in any of their products.  In addition, who would want to give a company that operates itself in this manner any money.

Apologies to AN and Charles as it is off topic...something was mentioned about something I have a lot of experience with so I felt like chiming in.

Regards,
Mike

iGrant

Opera Gear Discussion
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2010, 12:23:22 AM »
Hi Mike,

We are here to help, we ordered in some transports 2 years ago from Opera and have only used one. Opera doesn't make them, they are either Phillips or Sony transports, they test them as well as they can in the factory, which I have witnessed. Anyone who contacts me about transports I always tell them to go to your local basic electronics tech for servicing, they usually have a flat fee around $60 and can easily repair the drive. No need to go to a high-end exotic shop or ship back to the factory at multitudes the cost if out of warranty, most transports (drives/pickups) are basically the same thing and have common issues, alignment being the main one typically from shipping or mishandling.

I've read about the problems with the Calif in NA and that was part of the reason the last distributor was fired according to Opera, we have helped repair two of them to date, you can contact us directly to help get it out from under your bed.

Cheers,
Ian

Mike L

Opera Gear Discussion
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2010, 01:12:28 PM »