Author Topic: Do We Need Linestages ????  (Read 1041 times)

Offline mresseguie

  • Certifiable
  • ***
  • Posts: 234
Re: Do We Need Linestages ????
« Reply #15 on: February 17, 2019, 04:11:07 AM »
Both of my tube preamps make my music sound more pleasant. I prefer to have a preamp over having a DAC/pre combo.
Daedalus Audio Apollos Fritz Loudspeakers LS/5-R
Gustard X20u DAC
dB Audio Labs Tranquility SE DAC w/Jupiter Caps
Don Sachs Model 2
Don Sachs Kootenay 120 KT88; Nuprime ST-10
TWL loom
PI Audio UberBUSS, DigiBUSS, Uber-MiniBUSS
PI Audio USB cable
Mac Mini

Offline rollo

  • Out Of My Speaker Cabinet
  • ******
  • Posts: 5547
  • Rollo Audio - Home demo the only way to know
Re: Do We Need Linestages ????
« Reply #16 on: February 18, 2019, 11:12:46 AM »
Both of my tube preamps make my music sound more pleasant. I prefer to have a preamp over having a DAC/pre combo.


   Spot on !

charles
contact me  at rollo14@verizon.net or visit us on Facebook
Lamm - Aqua Acoustic Formula & La Scala DAC- INNUOS  - Rethm Speakers - PI Audio Uberbuss - Triode Wire Labs- Kuzma - Furutech - Audio Hungry Qualiton - Fritz Carrera speakers -Gigawatt-Arion

Offline pursuitofnow

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: Do We Need Linestages ????
« Reply #17 on: March 14, 2019, 08:31:08 PM »
The amps I use require 2 volts and sound even better with 4-8volts. Everything from dynamics, density, and imaging are just better. So I would think it really depends on your amp to determine if linestages are "needed".
Thorens VN-150(2M Black) > ZP3-25th > ZSTAGE-25th
PS Audio DirectStream DAC
ZBIT > ZROCK2-25th > SE84UFO3-25th
Omega Super 3 HO XRS, DeepOmega 8
Zenwave D4, ZSTYX
PI Audio Uberbuss, Digibuss, Triode Wire Labs

Offline P.I.

  • Obsessively Audiophilic
  • ****
  • Posts: 615
  • Silence is that blackness beneath the music
    • P.I. audio group, LLC
Re: Do We Need Linestages ????
« Reply #18 on: March 14, 2019, 09:58:59 PM »
It has been my experience that both voltage output of > 3v is essential along with adequate drive current.

Some years ago I listened to my passive driven by a Cary 306 and also a preamp with a lot of current at the same voltage.  The pre was decisively betterin terms of PRAT.

A big part of what makes it all work are output and input impedance IME.
"A man with an experience is never at the mercy of a man with an argument." - Hilmar von Campe

Offline doug s.

  • Obsessively Audiophilic
  • ****
  • Posts: 393
Re: Do We Need Linestages ????
« Reply #19 on: May 07, 2019, 06:09:44 PM »
re: voltage output, it could be one of the reasons why the melos preamps are so nice.  i have been told that the ma333r can drive speakers directly.

doug s.

Offline rollo

  • Out Of My Speaker Cabinet
  • ******
  • Posts: 5547
  • Rollo Audio - Home demo the only way to know
Re: Do We Need Linestages ????
« Reply #20 on: May 15, 2019, 08:28:58 AM »
  Agree Dave it is essential to have >3V from source and low input sensitivity of less than 1V for ultimate passive pre performance.
Doug a great preamp, a classic when working.  :-P


charles
contact me  at rollo14@verizon.net or visit us on Facebook
Lamm - Aqua Acoustic Formula & La Scala DAC- INNUOS  - Rethm Speakers - PI Audio Uberbuss - Triode Wire Labs- Kuzma - Furutech - Audio Hungry Qualiton - Fritz Carrera speakers -Gigawatt-Arion

Offline steve

  • Obsessively Audiophilic
  • ****
  • Posts: 609
    • Reference components
Re: Do We Need Linestages ????
« Reply #21 on: May 16, 2019, 03:23:29 PM »
I am a little confused. Do you gents mean greater than 3 or 4 volts output capability, when using a passive control, or another condition? 

Probably a stupid question, but I ask because usually that kind of actual signal voltage output will have the cones parachuting to the floor.   :rofl:

Cheers

steve
Steve Sammet (retired, but manufacturing "V" ics again)

SAS Audio Labs Test Phono Stage
SAS Audio 11A Reference Preamplifier
SAS Audio 25 W Triode Reference Amplifier
Test Spkrs
"V" ICs
10 parallel 18 ga. speaker wires