Author Topic: Comparative listening to USB decrapifiers  (Read 3149 times)

Offline mfsoa

• Obsessively Audiophilic
Comparative listening to USB decrapifiers
« on: January 13, 2018, 08:30:51 AM »
I rarely do comparative listening anymore but since I picked up a used Wyred Recovery and a new iFi iUSB3.0 (also used to power my Rapsbeery Pi) I figured I should spend some time listening to them relative to each other and to the pc output sans decrapifier.

The PC is a Minix Neo Z83-4, Win 10 into a Gustard A20H dac. The PC and all decrapifiers were powerd by an HDPlax 220 W linear supply. Source - USB stick stuck into the PC. Decent lower-grade Audioquest USB cable or a Curious USB cable added when using the decrapifiers.

I had been using the Recovery for several months and was convinced that I liked the sound, but never really listened to the bare PC for comparison.

Well, I was actually surprised at how much of a positive difference the Recovery made. All the usual audiophile stuff but most striking was a removal of what we have come to know the sound of "bad digital" where the soundstage just collapses front to back and appears to hang in a 2d plane between the speakers. Cymbals lose their cymbalishousness. And digital trumpets YUCK. Addition of the Recovery resulted in a deep, well defined take-a-walk-around-and-through-it soundstage. Better bass, cymbals that each take on  their own timbre instead of just being different frequencies of "SSSSHHHHH"

Relative to the Recovery, the iFi presents a more forward treble presentation with EXPLOSIVE dynamics. Not better, just different. OK maybe a bit better. It takes a little getting used to but I think I take it for normal now. The iFi is also being used to power my Raspberry Pi which is used for PiCorePlayer via spdif to dac.

Cliche but some of the best bang for buck dollars I have spent on the system.

Neither decrapifier had any issue playing 4X DSD or 352/384 all day with no issues.