Author Topic: Acoustic Zen Adagio  (Read 12175 times)

Offline Emil

• Audio Neurotic
Acoustic Zen Adagio
« on: March 31, 2010, 03:10:01 PM »

Anyone own or heard a pair? Comments?

Of course all the reviews are positive :D
"Today I didn't even have to use my A.K.
I got to say it was a good day"
    --Ice Cube

Offline richidoo

• Out Of My Speaker Cabinet
Re: Acoustic Zen Adagio
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2010, 04:38:15 PM »
It was my favorite speaker at my first RMAF, back in 06, with Response 100W tube monoblocks, (and modwright tube pre, I think.) I was a fresh noob, but the good impression held up over time. I've recently heard them again at Henry's (bmr3hc) and they're still awesome, again with a great tube amp.  Great bass, amazing transient response for a TL speaker, even with tubes.

I heard their newest hifi monster speakers with triamped Halcro at RMAF08, interesting, but only cerebral.

evan1

« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2010, 04:59:40 PM »
Emil , doesn't Philnyc have a pair in his basement?

http://www.audiocircle.com/index.php?action=gallery;sa=album;id=1768
« Last Edit: March 31, 2010, 05:07:24 PM by evan1 »

Offline hometheaterdoc

• Obsessively Audiophilic
« Reply #3 on: March 31, 2010, 05:53:43 PM »
for my personal tastes, they mandate having tubes on them to sound their best... they are a little too lean and forward for my liking.  They need a little romantic love in front of them.  but you need decently stout tubes to control the t-line bass... otherwise it can get boomy..

the tweeter can be an issue for some folks that like to iisten at different heights.  get above or below it and it drops off a cliff as far as output.  Not a big deal if you are going to be sitting in front of them to listen all the time.  but something to consider if you are using for background music or casual listening while in the same room but out of the tweeter's axis...