Author Topic: My speakers are shouting at me  (Read 21158 times)

Offline richidoo

• Out Of My Speaker Cabinet
My speakers are shouting at me
« on: April 14, 2007, 12:05:48 PM »
Much thanks to Carl for making a housecall yesterday and bringing his bag of tricks to try to zap this little problem I have been fighting for a few months. After a day of experimenting with cables, sources, placement, we still were not able to remove the shouty sound in my listening room. Since everything above the speakers has been tweaked, upgraded or swapped with borrowed high end components of known shoutless pedigree, I have to face the music and start pointing at the speakers. In so many ways they really are ideal for the music I love to play, but this thing is bugging me.

The speakers are Legacy Audio Focus 20/20. They midrange drivers are twin "7 inch" yellow hexacone drivers on each speaker which are supposedly pretty exotic, or at least they were 8 years ago when designed! The moveable cone actually measures only 5" across. When I touch the mid drivers when they are not playing, the friction sound of rubbing or scratching the cone material is bright and resonant, it has that same sheen of the shout sound. Could the driver cone itself be resonating to color the sound?