Author Topic: Networking help for total newb- SB Touch  (Read 7928 times)

Offline mfsoa

• Obsessively Audiophilic
Networking help for total newb- SB Touch
« on: October 11, 2011, 01:59:01 PM »
I am running Cat6 directly from my laptop to the Touch and when I try to access the Music Folder using the remote that comes with the Touch, I get the "No valid IP" "Your Touch does not have a valid IP address..." error on the Touch display.

I can play music just fine using the laptop, or using the SBox Duet remote, but not w/ the Touch remote.

Can I (and how do I) set a static IP address so the PC and Touch always see each other?

Do I need to change something in the networking side of the PC so that it sends an IP addy to the Touch?  A DCHP setting?

Sorry if my terms are all wrong, hopefully you guys know what I'm talking about.

Thanks everyone...

-Mike

evan1

Re: Networking help for total newb- SB Touch
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2011, 02:03:12 PM »
That use to happen to me. Try shutting the touch down and turninig it back on

Offline Bob in St. Louis

• Audio Neurotic
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2011, 02:36:14 PM »
There should be a "factory reset" type thing.
On the Duet remote, for instance, you pull the battery out, then hold a particular button while installing the battery.
This basically makes it start all over again from square one.

But I'm sure the Touch remote is different than the Duet or SB3, so I can't help ya there.

Bob

Offline shadowlight

« Reply #3 on: October 12, 2011, 05:28:32 AM »
I am running Cat6 directly from my laptop to the Touch and when I try to access the Music Folder using the remote that comes with the Touch, I get the "No valid IP" "Your Touch does not have a valid IP address..." error on the Touch display.

I can play music just fine using the laptop, or using the SBox Duet remote, but not w/ the Touch remote.

Can I (and how do I) set a static IP address so the PC and Touch always see each other?