Author Topic: SB2: to pre-amp or not to pre-amp?  (Read 6375 times)

chadh

SB2: to pre-amp or not to pre-amp?
« on: January 27, 2007, 04:13:10 PM »
I've had my Bolder modified SB2 in my system for about six months now.  I've been using it with a 6sn7-tubed pre-amp (the QA-001 from Space tech labs) into CI Audio VMB1 monoblocks (chip amps), and now have Omega Super 3 XRS speakers.

This morning, I had my very first little experiment with running the SB2 directly into my amps.  Not a serious attempt to discern differences.  But just   a quick and casual experiment to see what hit me in the face.  To be honest, I was a little scared:  all the comments I'd heard had been that the SB2 direct to amps was definitely the superior way to go.  I'd hate to discover that I've been wasting time (and money) for six months with the pre-amp in the system.

Well, my immediate reaction was - wow.  This sounds so much more airy and spacious.  I felt I got a lot more detail from the music too.  But after a little while, I didn't find myself tapping my foot quite as much.  The sound seemed thinner somehow.  Not thin.  Just thinner than before.

I think the best comparison I can give would be to soup.  Some soups are fragrant with well defined flavours - very tasty and also sophisticated.  Others are hearty, with more robust but less distinct flavours.  Depending on your mood or need, one or other will be more satisfying.  In this case, I think I found the heartier soup (i.e. using the pre-amp) more satisfying.

Some of this may have something to do with the major weakness I perceive in my system.  The upper registers aren't quite as sweet as I would like.  I'm not sure what does this:  maybe the fostex drivers aren't really what I need; maybe (well, without a doubt) my room isn't helping things, and my set-up is compromised.  I think that taking the pre-amp out of the chain emphasized this.