Author Topic: Hello from the California Central Valley  (Read 4138 times)

Offline rikkitik

Hello from the California Central Valley
« on: September 07, 2018, 06:41:31 AM »
 Hello all!
 I'm not a big audio forum poster, but found some interesting posts on your site, and figured I would join.
 I became "audio afflicted" the day my father brought home an old tubed Magnavox console that just sounded "right". It had that "something" that was just.....satisfying.
 Unfortunately, little did I know, that was only a seed being planted.......
 I started building my own speakers at 16. My dad had taught me to solder when I was about 10 years old. Speaker building was interest by necessity, I didn't have the $$ for "real" speakers, and besides, I found "why" things sounded different interesting.
 I would read Stereo Review, High Fidelity, Audio, etc, and try to absorb the info.
 I actually parlayed that interest into something of a career. I was a Heavy Equipment mechanic at a National Laboratory. When Vibration Analysis became popular, I was "pre-trained" by my own interests. Frequency, amplitude, and phase, were all to common terms and concepts. It was an easy transition.
 For 25 years, I worked in the vibration analysis of rotating equipment. Bearing analysis, failure trends, modal analysis, dynamic balancing, plus was exposed to some incredible technology. Hey, it was a National research Laboratory, cutting edge to say the least.
 Anyway, my interest/obsession audio grew over the years.
 I retired about a year ago. Then moved (kind of stupid..lol).
 When we were signing some documents, I was talking to the mortgage broker, and describing how the acoustics of the "great room" at the new place was a BIG attraction to this floorplan. She literally said, "wait a minute, tou are buying this ad a $$$,$$$.$$ "stereo component"???
 I sheepishly turned a bit red, she wasn't wrong.....LOL.
 I did have the builder add dedicated circuits for amps and digital (obviously... :roll:)