Author Topic: Apple TV for audio...???  (Read 7676 times)

Offline StereoNut

• Audio Neurotic
  • So much great music, so little time!
Apple TV for audio...???
« on: December 20, 2013, 07:40:26 AM »
I have NO experience with a computer "front end" for audio.

None! Zilch! Zip! Nada! :rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

Can an old Apple TV unit be used for a 2-channel audio digital source/server?  If so, what else would I need to put together a functional set up?

Thanks!
SN
"Friends, Romans & Countrymen; lend me your ears"

• Primaluna Dialogue Tube Pre-Amp
• N.Y.A.L. Moscode 600 Amp
• Bolder/EE Minimax DAC
• Cambridge D-500SE CDP
• Von Schweikert 2012 Mod.VR-4 Gen.III speakers
• VPI Prime/Soundsmith MMP3/DV20x2H
• T.W.L

Offline hometheaterdoc

• Obsessively Audiophilic
Re: Apple TV for audio...???
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2013, 08:23:55 AM »
you can jailbreak or otherwise partition the OS to allow additional menu options to load other software... in this case XPMC so you can stream all your music and video file content stored on any other computer on the network.  I've done it with original apple tvs...  the processor/memory in them isn't fast enough to stream HD video content, but it works with audio files... not the best sounding option out there, and the remote is awful, but it works.... 

you just need to bite the bullet and put a laptop or desktop in the audio chain and use a USB cable to connect to a DAC with USB capability.  It couldn't be easier.

Software options are plentiful, from free (Foobar2000, media monkey, etc.) to paid (JRiver Media Center)....

Someone recently released a new, free room correction plug-in for Foobar2000 that has been getting good reviews:  http://mathaudio.com/  I'm curious to try it myself at some point....