Author Topic: How important is the center channel amplification?  (Read 13968 times)

Hantra

How important is the center channel amplification?
« on: May 28, 2007, 01:24:33 PM »
All:

I'm about to embark on some multi-channel integration into my 2 channel setup.  I am not changing anything on my 2 channel system, but I'll be adding the multi channel stuff.  

I think I am going to use another identical Piega speaker for my center channel, but I don't necessarily want to buy another 501 monoblock.  In fact, I am wondering how important it is to have the same, or similar amp on the center.  I could bi-amp with another McIntosh stereo amp, but I'm still spending more than I want to spend.  

Will it be really noticeable if I have different amps across the front?

I'm new to all this multi channel stuff.

Thanks!

Black Sand Cable

« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2007, 01:36:03 PM »
I just went through this and after trying more amps than I care to remember,  I came to the conclusion that center channel amplification does matter but I would not spend the money on a 501 unless you have an outrageously power hungry center or money to burn.

I have a somewhat power hungry 6ohm center and it performs very well with a steady 125W into it. I have tried more powerful amps and didn't see any noticeable difference that would make me want to run out and spend a lot of money on it. I even went so far as to bi-amp my center and once again the difference in performance was negligible.....if there was any at all.

Just my two cents but it comes from a guy who has swapped out a ton of HT equipment over the last few years.

The only time I might change my view is if you post and tell me that you are going to be listening to a lot of multi channel audio, then you may in fact want balanced power throughout the system but even then, I think it's overkill. I put my time and money into powering my mains. After that I just use what works.

Hantra

« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2007, 02:02:00 PM »